Monday, November 10, 2014

Iconic Assembly Ratings

Chris V. breaks down his rating methods for the uninitiated.

I feel as though I haven't made this clear enough.  I actually do not like standard rating systems.  Things like A+ to E/F-, 1 Star to 5 Stars, X out of 10, etcetera.  I like to give ratings a little more personal flare.  I like to interject a little of my personality in there.  So while I do use that standard rating system for the sake of being "professional," I do have my own little ratings and here those are, so you know what's what when they come up on the show.

  • (Seal of Iconic Achievement) – This is a special rating, given only to the books that go above and beyond in impressing me.  These books must be more than just good reads.  There are a few qualifiers but the primary thing is that it must honor and/or utilize old continuity and emphasize iconography and legacy.  Two examples of books I’ve read that have achieved this rating are "Avengers Assemble" and "Stars & S.T.R.I.P.E".
  • Earth’s Finest – These are the tops of the crop.  They’re the best that comics have to offer.  They are both meaningful and entertaining, with likable characters, intriguing ideas, and memorable plots.  They understand how their characters are supposed to work, and yes, this is a play on of "Earth's Mightiest Heroes" and "World's Finest."  It is also where the show's slogan of "Earth's Finest Fanbase" comes from.  Now you know.
  • Masterfully Assembled – These are better comics with maybe a few missing things here-and-there, or a few minor flaws.  Otherwise they are fun reads that are overall structurally sound.
  • Graphic Novelty – These are okay to read on repeat but there may be a couple of significant flaws or bits in the book that you could seriously do with some fixing.  Possibly a structural error here or there but easily overlooked and forgiven in light of the rest of the story.
  • Worth One Shot – These are books that are all right, but you may not ever feel compelled to go back and read them again.  Rereading them won’t add to the experience or make it better.  But the book is overall harmless.  Usually the case here is that the book is structurally sound, but it is missing something that might make the experience more enjoyable.
  • In Crisis – These are books that teeter far too close to being just plain bad.  These are the books with a lot of squandered potential behind them and usually sloppy execution with art that isn’t easy to look at.
  • Wasted Print – These are just abysmal reads.  There might be one or two redeeming qualities but are otherwise not worth the time or money they took to make or it takes you to read them.
  • Burn Worthy – These are books in which there is barely anything redeemable, if anything at all.  They are insulting to the senses, as well as one’s intelligence.  They’re the books where you can’t help but think “Why do you exist?!”  Characters are betrayed, there is no respect for past lore, and stories are overly complex, with characters constantly spouting contrived philosophy. Things happen constantly for no reason other than to advance the plot, character development is virtually absent.
And there you have it.  You now know by grading criteria for comics on the show.  I hope this has been an enlightening experience and, as always, thanks for watching and reading.  Take care.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.